Thursday, January 6, 2011

Wooden Award Midseason Top 30

I received a press release earlier Thursday afternoon from the Los Angeles Athletic Club and the Wooden Award committee, announcing the top-30 midseason candidates for the award. Here are some of the highlights from the release, as well as the list of players.

  • Marshon Brooks, G/F, Providence
  • Alec Burks, G, Colorado
  • Malcolm Delaney, G, Virginia Tech
  • Marcus Denmon, G, Missouri
  • LaceDarius Dunn, G, Baylor
  • Kenneth Faried, F/C, Morehead State
  • Jimmer Fredette, G, BYU
  • Austin Freeman, G, Georgetown
  • Jordan Hamilton, G/F, Texas
  • Matt Howard, F, Butler
  • Reggie Jackson, G, Boston College
  • Rick Jackson, F, Syracuse
  • JaJuan Johnson, F/C, Purdue
  • Terrence Jones, F, Kentucky
  • Kawhi Leonard, F, San Diego State
  • Jon Leuer, F, Wisconsin
  • Demetri McCamey, G, Illinois
  • E’Twaun Moore, G, Purdue
  • Marcus Morris, F, Kansas
  • Jacob Pullen, G, Kansas State
  • John Shurna, F, Northwestern
  • Kyle Singler, F, Duke
  • Nolan Smith, G, Duke
  • Jared Sullinger, F, Ohio State
  • Isaiah Thomas, G, Washington
  • Klay Thompson, G, Washington State
  • Kemba Walker, G, Connecticut
  • Brad Wanamaker, G, Pittsburgh
  • Derrick Williams, F, Arizona
  • Jordan Williams, F, Maryland


- Among the Midseason Top 30 candidates are returning Wooden Award ballot members Kyle Singler of Duke, who made it in 2009 and 2010, and BYU’s Jimmer Fredette.

- Purdue and Duke are the only two teams with multiple players on the list. Purdue had JaJuan Johnson and E’Twaun Moore, while Duke had Kyle Singler and Nolan Smith.

- Two freshmen made the cut: Jared Sullinger of Ohio State and Kentucky’s Terrence Jones.

- The Big Ten and Big 12 each had six players chosen to the list, while the ACC and Big East had five and the Pac-10 and Mountain West garnering three nods.

- Nine players who were not on the preseason list were selected to the midseason top 30: Marshon Brooks (Providence), Marcus Denmon (Missouri), Kenneth Faried (Morehead State), Matt Howard (Butler), Reggie Jackson (Boston College), Rick Jackson (Syracuse), Terrence Jones (Kentucky), Jared Sullinger (Ohio State) and Brad Wanamaker (Pittsburgh).

No comments:

Post a Comment